GraphPad Prism 8 User Guide

Merging and splitting projects

Merging and splitting projects

Previous topic Next topic No expanding text in this topic  

Merging and splitting projects

Previous topic Next topic JavaScript is required for expanding text JavaScript is required for the print function Emails questions or corrections.  

Merging

Prism offers three approaches to merging two Prism projects.

To merge an entire Prism project into another: Drop the File menu and choose Merge. Pick a file (which must not be open). That's it. All sheets from that file will be appended to your current project. Prism places an asterisk (*) in front of the name of each merged sheet.

To merge just one graph and its related sheets into another Prism project starting from the project with the graph: Copy a graph from one Prism project. Go to a layout page in another project. Then paste. Prism will ask if you want to paste an unlinked picture, paste a linked picture (linked to file you pasted from), or merge the graph and its family into the new file.

To merge just one graph and its related sheets into another Prism project starting from the project you want to merge into: Go to a layout page. Double click on a graph placeholder. The Place Graph on Layout dialog lets you choose to merge the graph and data into the new file, to maintain a link to the original Prism file so that changes in the original will update in the current file, or to paste just a picture of the graph.

Splitting

Prism offers two approaches to splitting apart a Prism project.

To save one family of sheets into a new file:  Drop the File menu, choose  Save Special, and then Save Family As. This will create a new file from the current sheet along with all linked sheets.

To save a copy of the entire project with a new name: Drop the File menu. In Windows, choose Save As. In Mac, choose Duplicate.

Once you've saved a copy of the file, or part of it, you'll want to delete unwanted sheets from the original project. The easiest way to delete several sheets is to go to the Gallery for a section and click the checkbox on several sheets. Then press Delete. When you delete a data table, you have the option to delete all info, results, and graph sheets linked to the selected data tables at the same time.